Running to prevent a bad back

I’ve been regularly running, long distance, for over half of my life. I started running when I was 14 to ward off the family curse of bad backs and having to wear a posture brace for life! Truth be told though, I started to love it not long after I began and have never looked back. I simply don’t feel like myself if I haven’t been for a run.

I’ve had some pretty good charity runs lately too. You know, the ones where you pay as an entrant and run for a good cause? Well, I thoroughly enjoy them because generally, everyone really wants to be there and running as hard as they can, so I find it empowering to try harder each time.

At the last fun run that I did, I came 46th position out of 800 people. I was absolutely wrapt that I did so well. Big pat on the back for me 🙂 I couldn’t believe I had come in the top 100, let alone the top 50! Lucky for me, all my close friends and family were there with me, cheering me along and waiting at the finish line to cheer me further for finishing!

They all wanted to celebrate by taking me out for dinner, which was super cute but I didn’t have the nerve to tell them that all I kept thinking about was how much I couldn’t wait to laze in front of the TV in my recliner chair and just chill out after a massive day.

What do you think?

